Te Komiti Nui have almost reached their three year anniversary and are set for the final of three Ngati Whakaue Registered Voting Hui which will see the election of ten Trustees. These representatives will provide governance and direction to see the settlement of all existing historical claims of Ngati Whakaue with the Crown.

The provisional and unofficial results have been announced by the Returning Officer at the two most recent Ngati Whakaue Registered Voting hui held recently at Whakaue Marae on 8 July and at Te Papaiouru Marae on 15 July.

They are as follows:

  • Anaru Te Amo
  • Kingi Biddle
  • Hokimatomai Kahukiwa
  • Hamuera Mitchell
  • Te Kiri Mitchell
  • Larissa Wharepōuri
  • Paora John Tohi Te Ururangi Tapsell
  • Pauline Moana Tangohau

One final hui will be held on 22 July to at 10am to Hurungaterangi Marae, Hona Road, Ngapuna. Two representatives for Ngapuna and the Eastern and South Eastern interests of Ngati Whakaue will be elected completing the election process.

Official results will be published in the Rotorua Daily Post following the final election hui results.

NOTE:  Nominations will be taken from the floor on the day.

Sunday 08 July 2012 Whakaue Marae, MaketuOne (1) representative for Maketu and the sea and coastal interests of Ngati Whakaue. 10.00am with morning tea at 11.00am
Sunday 15 July 2012 Te Papaiouru Marae, OhinemutuSix (6) representatives of the Koromatua Hapu and the central interests of Ngati Whakaue;One (1) representative for Horohoro and the western and south western interests of Ngati Whakaue. 12.00pm with lunch at 1.30pm
Sunday 22 July 
Hurungaterangi Marae, Hona Rd, NgapunaTwo (2) representatives for Ngapuna and the eastern and south eastern interests of Ngati Whakaue 10.00am with morning tea at 11.00am